Lowepro Photo Hatchback 22L AW Review


Photo backpacks are typically very one-dimensional products that only get used in tandem with a camera. The Lowepro Photo Hatchback 22L AW breaks that mold with its split personality. At the drop of a hat, one can transform it from a photography companion into an everyday hauler. Whether it’s heading to a class or meeting, going on short hikes, or carrying a change of clothes to the gym, the Photo Hatchback is fully equipped to handle the daily grind and more. 



  • Sleek and modern outdoor daypack design offers a casual, yet high-performance carrying solution
  • Multi-functional compartments provide versatile organization of camera gear, tablet and creature comforts.
  • Removable, padded camera box with storm-flap closure and grab handles offer customizable storage for a complete camera kit; remove it to convert bag into a fully functional daypack.
  • Body-side, hatchback opening provides easy and secure access to camera gear.
  • Padded, front stash pocket offers quick access to a dual compartment that fits a tablet or compact laptop, plus other fast-grab items.
  • Padded, mesh-covered backpad provides soft, breathable comfort for all-day wearing.
  • Tall, stretch-mesh side pockets supply ideal storage for water bottles or extra gear.
  • Roomy upper compartment offers plentiful space for personal items (lunch, jacket, sunglasses, etc.) and includes a zippered pocket with built-in key fob and 2 stretch-mesh pockets.
  • Built-in memory card pocket supplies a convenient place to stash spare memory.
  • Patented, built-in All Weather AW Cover™ provides a premium Lowepro feature that protects gear from the elements.
  • Multiple adjustment points offer a custom and comfortable fit via straps at shoulders, sternum and waist.
  • SlipLock™ attachment loops on shoulder straps expand carrying capacity.
  • Webbing grab handle provides an extra way to carry pack.


*Courtesy of Lowepro




Video Review





You have no rights to post comments


# Ofir 2013-03-26 14:16
Excellent review! I'm using this bag for around 4 months now to carry a 5D Mark II along with a few prime L lenses and the best part of it, aside of it not being so apparent as a photographer's bag, is the way it distributes the weight - I can barely feel it on me!
By the way, the front pocket can hold a 13" Macbook Air, at least that's how I carry mine... :)

Loving this bag, after going through 3 different Lowepro backpacks, I finally found my comfort-zone.
# John 2013-05-06 22:14
Do you think there is enough room to fit a non gripped DSLR with kit lens + 2 lenses and a canon 430 ex flash in the camera compartment? The pictures ive seen seem quite misleading. Any information is much appreciated. :)
# Ofir 2013-05-07 06:53
In addition to my comment (if it got posted), here's a picture of the gear in my bag - plenty of room left, fit also a 135L, can easily fit other common gear.

# John 2013-05-07 19:48
That was very helpful. Thank you so much. I just ordered it. :)
# Mike 2013-07-15 07:45
Would it be possible for you pop up a picture of the front pocket with the 13" air inside? This is the only deciding factor for me purchasing this bag :)

# Ofir 2013-07-15 10:15
Unfortunately I sold my 13 inch Macbook Air a month ago. I can tell you tho that it just about fits (wouldn't fit with any case tho), I would add that it's better to use it in that front pocket when the Macbook Air has "Invisible Shield" applied to it to protect it from bumping from the zipper when taking it in or out.

But as I said, it just about fits - wide wise. Depth wise, that's not even a question, and there is double layer of protection (inner layer+outside layer).
# Mika 2013-08-16 02:04
Ofir, sorry to jump in so late, but I am wondering whether I should get 11" or 13" MBA and since I already have Lowepro Hatchback 22, I am interested on why you got rid of your MBA 13?

I tried 13 MBA in the store and found additional means to get it into hatchback: I took out divider from the inside and slided the MBA 13 behind the camera compartment. Seemed to do the trick, although I would need to use the back like that for a while before final conclusions.
# Ofir 2013-08-20 04:20
Hey again,
I sold my Macbook Air only because I needed the cash at that time. To me, it is the best ultrabook by far and I wouldn't consider any other computer to take along with me, not even the Macbook Pro Retina (at least until it gets AS thin as the Air series".

Referring to your method of storing the Macbook Air in this bag, I wouldn't recommend it and as I said, the Air fits fine in the front compartment where the zipper is. It fits and can be pulled in or out easily (after one or twice of training, and is protected by 2 layers.
# Mika 2013-08-23 23:43
Thanks for the reply.. I have to start training then, as soon as I get the 13 MacBook Air.. if I'm lucky, ill have mine before the end of the next week ;-)
# Ofir 2013-03-26 14:21

The backpack DOES come with elastic bands!
# Ofir 2013-05-06 23:30
Quoting John:
Do you think there is enough room to fit a non gripped DSLR with kit lens + 2 lenses and a canon 430 ex flash in the camera compartment? The pictures ive seen seem quite misleading. Any information is much appreciated. :)

Hey John,

The answer is yes. From my experience, it can hold a 5D Mark II (I don't have any battery grip) with a 35L attached, a 85L and a 50mm f/1.8 on the left and a 580 EXII on the right - all in the camera compartment. And I have no idea how is that, but I don't feel the weight on my back.
# John 2013-05-07 06:52
That's perfect. Sounds like the right bag for me :) thanks a bunch!