Kingston Predator 16GB (2x8GB) 1866 MHz DDR3 RAM/Memory Kit Review (KHX18C9T2K2/16X) - Benchmarks - AIDA64

AIDA64

AIDA64 is a 64-bit benchmarking, monitoring, and diagnostic suite which proves useful for a large number of applications.  The benchmarking side of the suite allows testing a wide range of CPU performance, disk performance, and for this particular review, memory benchmarking.  For more information on the AIDA64 Extreme Edition we're using for our tests, see Finalware's Website.

 

aida641

aida64lat

 

The results are as expected: overclocking shows an increase in performance, but it isn't a big one. The biggest increase is seen in memory latency at a solid 20%, but the other tests don't show much of a speed increase.  The XMP gives a nice no-hassle boost out of the box, and gets you a nice boost for a simple setting change.  It gets you to about 2/3 of the way to the best clock we could find and at the safety and reliability of the tested ratings.

 

You have no rights to post comments

Comments   

 
# Sabishii Hito 2012-10-26 08:21
These sticks are based on Hynix CFR 2Gb ICs and should have way more headroom, at least DDR3-2400 11-13-12.
 
 
# Evan 2012-10-26 08:28
Quoting Sabishii Hito:
These sticks are based on Hynix CFR 2Gb ICs and should have way more headroom, at least DDR3-2400 11-13-12.


Even the best chips down have some "down-binned" parts come off the line for the lower frequency kits. But appreciate the feedback, and I'll give it another shot for you (we were unsuccessful through several hours of trial-and-error through seemingly endless timing combinations at 2400 MHz). It is very possible we have one unlucky DIMM holding the kit back. Appreciate it and we will report back if we get something to stick this time! These also deserve a discussion of the Hynix chips, so thanks for that as well.
 
 
# Sabishii Hito 2012-10-26 11:04
Hmm, those buggers might need some more volts slapped in 'em! Although Hynix doesn't seem to scale much over 1.75v
 
 
# Sabishii Hito 2012-10-26 12:21
Yeah these ICs, when going for clocks over 2000 like the timings to be tRCD=tRP+1=CAS+ 2
 
 
# Evan 2012-10-26 12:28
Quoting Sabishii Hito:
Yeah these ICs, when going for clocks over 2000 like the timings to be tRCD=tRP+1=CAS+2


Great feedback and a good rule of thumb! Our mentality for the max OC was a "safe" 24/7 OC for a more typical enthusiast who likes to push without much added risk of damage, so we limited the voltage to 1.7V, I'll try a bit higher and see where it takes us!

Have a great day/weekend!
 
 
# Sabishii Hito 2012-10-27 08:14
My mistake, these actually use Hynix MFR 4Gb ICs, but they like the same kind of timings as their smaller-density siblings the 2Gb CFR chips.
 
 
# gene396302 2012-10-28 08:27
Can you put this on a laptop, it looks like a laptop memory.
 
 
# Evan 2012-10-28 17:13
Quoting gene396302:
Can you put this on a laptop, it looks like a laptop memory.


These are full-sized DIMMs, so they will not fit in a laptop. They appear more square because of the large-profile heatsinks.